Recharge

I have an iPhone.

A iPhone 5S.

It’s like three years old. 

The battery life is shocking
It’s become a running joke between me and my friends that if I’m not contactable, not to worry, my phone is probably just dead- classic Rach. I spend my life carrying a charger and looking for somewhere to top up my phone charge. I probably haven’t treated it well over it’s life time, leaving it to charge over night and never letting it run to empty.

Why am I telling you this?!


This weekend I’m staying in the rainforest in Punakaiki, New Zealand. That means, three days with no signal wifi texting FaceTime whatsapp instagram Facebook snapchat twitter contact with the outside world. I forewarned my anxious parents so that they wouldn’t worry more than they should. But I didn’t tell the rest of the world. That I’m off the grid

The place that I’m staying is awesome. It’s in the middle of nowhere and the kind of place where you can hear the waves and see the milky way. 

I’m spending this weekend how I want to. I’m eating what I want to when I want to. I’m sleeping in. I’m watching the sun change position in the sky while listening to the waves smashing the rocks, and then the stars take over to rule the night. I’m reading, writing, stretching, listening to music and praying. I’m recharging
It made me think about phone life. I feel like I’m modern life, we’re always contactable, always so connected to anyone that needs us. I feel like I’m living my life in that zone between 50% and 30% charge. Enough to make do, but not enough to really do

It’s so important to sometimes stop, invest in you, and come back with your battery fully discharged and then charged up to 100%. A weekend in the rainforest is a great way to do this.

Self care is imperative. Make time for it.

One thought on “Recharge

Leave a comment